The OAC is a biennial event offering first-rate continuing education opportunities for the audiologists of Ohio! The OAC attracts well-known national and international speakers – thanks to the efforts of our Program Chair Dr. Gail Whitelaw. Registration for the OAC is offered at a reduced rate to OAA members, and is free for student volunteers.

Important Message Regarding the Ohio Audiology Conference 2020:

The Ohio Audiology Conference that was scheduled to occur in October 2020 has been postponed to 2021 out of an abundance of caution.  Many factors were taken into consideration for this decision, but ultimately the safety of our attendees, speakers, and sponsors drove the final decision.  We look forward to planning the 2021 conference and hope to have more details to share soon!

For archived information about past Ohio Academy of Audiology Conferences click here



History of the OAC

  • Originally developed as the Midwest Audiology Conference (MAC);

  • The first MAC was held in 1993;

  • The MAC was one of the largest audiology meetings in the nation;

  • The first OAC Planning Committee was formed in 2001 with the first OAC taking place in 2003;

  • A Student Poster Session was added in 2007 to showcase the research and academic efforts of Ohio Doctor of Audiology students;

  • A state-wide student audiology meeting is hosted the evening before the OAC;

  • The mentoring future leaders meeting MAFO (Mapping Audiology’s Future in Ohio), originally held in 2010, was added in 2013

OAA Awards

The OAA Awards were created in 2007 in order to recognize deserving individuals each year who have made significant contributions to our profession and the Ohio Academy. The OAA Awards have been moved to a biennial schedule to coincide with the OAC. Awardees are nominated by the OAA membership and selected by the Awards Committee. Awards are given in the following categories:

  • Honors of the Academy: Recognizes a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the profession of audiology and to the Ohio Academy in one or more of the following areas:

    • Development of a program, test procedure, or protocol

    • Teaching or mentoring

    • Advocacy or public relations efforts

    • Publication of research

    • Delivery or adminstration of patient care

    • Past Winners:

      • 2007 Helene Levenfus, Au.D.

      • 2008 Erin Miller, Au.D.

      • 2009 Jane Kukula, Au.D.

      • 2010 Karen Mitchell, Au.D.

      • 2011 Susan LaChance, Au.D.

      • 2013 Sharon Lesner, Ph.D.

      • 2015 Gail Whitelaw, Ph.D.

  • Clinical Excellence Award: Recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the audiology profession in the area of clinical practice. The recipient shall have made notable contributions in one or more of the following areas:

    • Direct patient care

    • Development of clinical pathway or protocol for specific patient population

    • Publication or research relating to clinical practice

    • Past Winners:

      • 2007 Paula Webster, M.A.

      • 2008 Gail Whitelaw, Ph.D.

      • 2009 Richard Reikowski, Au.D.

      • 2010 Ann Cola-Schuh, Au.D.

      • 2011 Kristina English, Ph.D.

  • Research Award: Recognizes an individual who has performed and published basic or applied research which furthers the science of audiology.

    • Past Winners:

      • 2007 Craig Newman, Ph.D.

      • 2008 Sharon Sandridge, Ph.D.

      • 2009 Christina Roup, Ph.D.

      • 2010 Lisa Hunter, Ph.D.

      • 2011 Carol Flexer, Ph.D.

      • 2013 Eric Bielefeld, Ph.D.

  • Outstanding Young Audiologist Award: Recognizes an individual who has been practicing in the field of audiology for less than ten years who has made outstanding contributions to the profession. The recipient shall have made notable contributions in one or more of the following areas:

    • Outstanding clinical practice and/or patient care

    • Teaching or mentoring

    • Advocacy

    • Research

    • Exceptional service to the profession of audiology

    • Past Winners:

      • 2015 Audra Woods, Au.D.

      • 2017 Clint Keifer, Au.D.

      • 2017 Jodi Baxter, Au.D.

  • Outstanding Student Award: Recognizes a doctoral-level student (Au.D. or Ph.D.) of exceptional distinction who is currently enrolled in a university in the state of Ohio in the area of Audiology or related to Audiology. The recipient shall have made outstanding achievements in one or more of the following areas:

    • Outstanding clinical achievement and/or patient care

    • Scholastic achievement at the highest level

    • Outstanding contributions beyond degree or department requirements

    • Exceptional service to the profession of audiology

    • Past Winners:

      • 2012 Kelly Holand, NOAC

      • 2013 Dora Murphy-Courter, University of Cincinnati

      • 2017 Brittney Carter, Ohio State University

      • 2017 Sydney Reiman, University of Cincinnati


Ohio Audiology Conference